Downtown Coaches Club
Home / Contact us / MSU Football page

Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award
Other awards

The Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award has been awarded annually by the Club since 1953 to someone who is neither a current MSU athlete nor current MSU coach; has done much to advance the status of athletic teams representing schools/colleges within his/her surrounding community; and exemplifies community encouragement for the finest things in an athletic endeavor. The award is named in honor of the late Edward Vandervoort of Lansing who contributed so many fine services to athletics in the Greater Lansing area.

The 2016 recipient of the Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award is Robert "Bobby" Popp. Bobby has been involved in sports since his high school days where he played quarterback at Franklin (Pennsylvania) High School. He was captain of the squad his senior year. He also played high school basketball and baseball. Bobby was recruited by MSU Football Coach Duffy Daugherty in 1955. Bobby lettered as a quarterback under Daugherty on the 1957 National Championship team and graduated in 1958. After college, he was football coach at Albion. Bobby was in the restaurant business in the late 1960s and stayed in this business for 24 years. Bobby was involved with the creation of the Motor City Bowl with MSU Coach George Perles. For the past 29 years, Bobby has been involved with Perles in the Special Olympics Golf Outing at the Lansing Country Club. In 2016, Bobby was recognized by the Special Olympics and by the Cystic Fibrosis committee for his outstanding fund-raising abilities. Bobby is involved in the MSU Football Players Association and current players of the MSU football team. He has worked tirelessly for the Downtown Coaches Club as a greeter at our luncheons, helping the Student of the Week, coaches and players who attend our luncheons. Congratulation, Bobby Popp!

Recipients of Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award

2016 Robert "Bobby" Popp, 2015 Robert "Bob" Knickerbocker, 2014 Richard Comar, 2013 Dominic Carbone, 2012 Bill Demmer, 2011 Norm Gaffney, 2010 Wally Dobler, 2009 Henry Bullough, 2008 Craig Stover, 2007 Tony Noyola*, 2006 James Sinadinos, 2005 Kellie Dean, 2004 Jeff Smith, 2003 Lou Agase, 2002 Roger Boettcher, 2001 Tom Chirgwin, 2000 Kris Nicholoff, 1999 Dr. John Fuzak, 1998 John Findley, 1997 Cheri L. Krebs, 1996 John E. Demmer, 1995 Connie Mcauliffe, 1994 Bob Hoerner*, 1993 Monte Story, 1992 Frank "Muddy" Waters, 1991 Phil Irion, 1990 Bill Sharp, 1989 Bob Gross, 1988 A. Dean Watkins, 1987 Rev. Msgr. Jerome MacEachin, 1986 Tom Jamieson, 1985 Jim Holcomb, 1984 Don Johnson, 1983 Jack Draper, 1982 Gil Haley, 1981 Jim Adams, 1980 Clayton Kowalk, 1979 Fred Stabley Jr., 1978 Duane Vernon, 1977 Ernest Mary, 1976 Jack Hornbeck, 1975 Dick Letts, 1974 Ted Abrams, 1973 Jack Stein, 1972 Russ Sheathelm, 1971 Al Vanness, 1970 John Garver, 1969 Dr. James S. Feurig, 1968 Oz Hartley*, 1967 Clarence "Biggie" Munn, 1966 Charles Forsythe, 1965 Fred England Jr., 1964 Archie F. Ross, 1963 Walter Graff, 1962 George S. Alderton, 1961 Clarence W. Lock, 1960 Jack Heppinstall, 1959 Herbert Kipke, 1958 Bruce E. Anderson, 1957 Charles R. Phillips, 1956 Joseph R. Gwinn, 1955 Glen "Corky" Sanford, 1954 Ralph Young, 1953 Ernest Shassberger

* Awarded posthumously