Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award

The Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award has been awarded annually by the Club since 1953 to someone who is neither a current MSU athlete nor current MSU coach; has done much to advance the status of athletic teams representing schools/colleges within his/her surrounding community, and exemplifies community encouragement for the finest things in athletic endeavors. The award is named in honor of the late Edward Vandervoort of Lansing who contributed so many fine services to athletics in the Greater Lansing area.

2021 Recipient of the Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award

Dean Look



The 2021 recipient of the Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award is Dean Look. Dean was born in 1937 in Lansing, MI. He played high school football in Lansing and then attended MSU from 1956-60 where he earned his Bachelor’s Degree in Education and Business Management. Dean was a two-sport star player in football and baseball at MSU. He played football for Duffy Daugherty and baseball for John Kobs. In baseball, he was named the team's MVP in 1958 and was a first-team All-Big Ten selection after leading the team in six different offensive categories. In 1959 he made the switch from halfback to a quarterback for the football team. During that time, he was the only player in the country to be named the UPI’s Backfield Player of the Week three times that season. After receiving All-American honors, he was a first-round draft pick by the Denver Broncos of the AFL in 1960. In 1961 he played professional baseball with the Chicago White Sox and then played football for the New York Titans (also in the AFL) in 1962.

Dean is most notable for his 29 years of service as an NFL official: first as a line judge in 1972 then as a side judge in 1978. He retired after the 2000 season. He was the side judge who signaled touchdown on the historic Joe Montana to Dwight Clark pass better known as “The Catch” during the 1982 NFC Championship game between the Dallas Cowboys and the San Francisco 49ers. As an official, Look wore the uniform number 49 and was assigned to three Super Bowls--- Super Bowl XIII (13) in 1979, Super Bowl XV (15) in 1981, and Super Bowl XXVII (27) in 1993.

Dean was inducted into the MSU Hall of Fame in 2007 and the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame in 2017.


1953 Ernest Shassberger

1954 Ralph Young

1955 Glen "Corky" Sanford

1956 Joseph R. Gwinn

1957 Charles R. Phillips

1958 Bruce E. Anderson

1959 Herbert Kipke

1960 Jack Heppinstall

1961 Clarence W. Lock

1962 George S. Alderton

1963 Walter Graff

1964 Archie F. Ross

1965 Fred England Jr.

1966 Charles Forsythe

1967 Clarence "Biggie" Munn

1968 Oz Hartley*

1969 Dr. James S. Feurig

1970 John Garver

1971 Al Vanness

1972 Russ Sheathelm

1973 Jack Stein

1974 Ted Abrams

1975 Dick Letts

1976 Jack Hornbeck

1977 Ernest Mary

* Awarded posthumously

1978 Duane Vernon

1979 Fred Stabley Jr.

1980 Clayton Kowalk

1981 Jim Adams

1982 Gil Haley

1983 Jack Draper

1984 Don Johnson

1985 Jim Holcomb

1986 Tom Jamieson

1987 Rev. Msgr. Jerome MacEachin

1988 A. Dean Watkins

1989 Bob Gross

1990 Bill Sharp

1991 Phil Irion

1992 Frank "Muddy" Waters

1993 Monte Story

1994 Bob Hoerner*

1995 Connie Mcauliffe

1996 John E. Demmer

1997 Cheri L. Krebs

1998 John Findley

1999 Dr. John Fuzak

2000 Kris Nicholoff

2001 Tom Chirgwin

2002 Roger Boettcher

2003 Lou Agase

2004 Jeff Smith

2005 Kellie Dean

2006 James Sinadinos

2007 Tony Noyola*

2008 Craig Stover

2009 Henry Bullough

2010 Wally Dobler

2011 Norm Gaffney

2012 Bill Demmer

2013 Dominic Carbone

2014 Richard Comar

2015 Robert "Bob" Knickerbocker

2016 Robert "Bobby" Popp

2017 Jerry Sutton

2018 John West

2019 George Perles

2020 [N/A - COVID-19]

Recipients of the Edward R. Vandervoort Memorial Award